Oakhurst Girls' Primary 

Message from the Principal

The primary school years in a child’s life are the start of an endless learning journey. At Oakhurst we strive to make this journey a happy and fulfilling one.

The dedicated and committed staff seeks to provide the girls with a nurturing and caring environment in which to develop and grow into confident and compassionate young women equipped to make a positive impact on the world.

This mission, along with our proud tradition of innovation and academic excellence, makes us the school of choice for many families. We believe in providing opportunities for girls to excel in all areas, and participation in sport and the arts is encouraged. 

We proudly watch as our Grade seven girls move on to some of the most prestigious schools in the country. 

I hope you will enjoy visiting our website and that you will come to appreciate what makes Oakhurst the school that has a special place in the hearts of so many girls, present and past.

About us


Oakhurst was opened on 8 October 1906 as the Camp Ground School for

 Girls under the leadership of Mrs M. Garcia. 

It became an independent branch of Rustenburg School for Girls. 

It changed its name to Oakhurst Primary School in 1927 after one of the old houses on the Canigou Estate. 


Mrs Mabel Garcia (1906-1921)

Miss Christine Chandler (1920-1935)

Miss Esmé Powis (1936-1939)

Miss L. de Smidt (1940-1954)

Miss Elizabeth Haenni (1955-1982)

Miss Joan McKee (1982-1997)

Ms Anneline Lourens (1997-2006)

Mrs Jenny Van Velden (2007–2015)

Mrs Lorette de la Bat (2016–2023)

Mrs Gay Potter (April 2024)